AAAA Winners Announced

The new people-focussed Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards winners were announced last night. Winners were:

2010 Gold Medal: Kerry and Lindsay Clare (Qld / NSW / Vic)

Leadership in Sustainability Prize: Tony Arnel, Current Global Chair of the World Green Building Council (Vic)

Bluescope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize: Fiona Lew, University of Melbourne (Vic) [for Single Men’s Community at Palmerston Indigenous Village]

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize: Professor Gordon Holden of Griffith University (Qld)

Commendation: Associate Professor Samer Akkach, University of Adelaide (SA)

Dulux Study Tour: Mark Berlangieri (SA), Thomas Ferguson (NSW), Josephine Hurley (NSW), Michael McPherson (NSW) and David Sutherland (NSW)

Colorbond Student Biennale: Keith Westbrook, University of Tasmania (Tas) [for Ross Slip: Shipwright School]

Commendations: James Barclay, UNSW (NSW) [The Nook House – Hybrid Housing Solutions], Nicholas Flutter, UQ (Qld) [Northbank] and Lachlan Seegers, UN (NSW) [Newcastle Abattoir + Beef Market]

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture: Alysia Bennett, University of Tasmania (Tas)

Commendation: Jacqui Alexander and Tom Morgan, RMIT University (Vic)

Well done all (shame no WA representatives – but maybe next year!) There’s a great portfolio of the Clare’s work in the latest issue of Architecture Australia – some beautiful buildings!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s