ABWA Board Award

The Architects Board of Western Australia presents an annual award to an architect who has furthered professional and community standards.

The intention of the Award is to recognise architects registered in Western Australia whose attitudes and personal contributions to the profession and/or community have enhanced public confidence in the standing of the profession, and/or promoted public awareness of the profession and the activities of the Board.

There are many architects who, by individual effort and example, ensure that the profession has a respected voice in forming professional and community standards.  It is to those, whose true value may otherwise go unrecognised, who this honour is awarded to.  It is not intended that the Board Award should be made to recognise the successful career of an architect, building design or academic excellence.  It is awarded to recognise special endeavours outside of those which would be considered the normal business activities of an architect.

Year Winner Age For?
1982 John Duncan
1983 Geoffrey Summerhayes  55
1984 Stuart J Coll
1985 David Standen
1986 Antony Ednie-Brown  51?
1987 Gresley Cohen  61
1988 Anthony Brand
1989 Frederick McCardell
1990 Peter Grigg
1991 Ronald (Gus) Ferguson
1992 Michael Croudance
1993 Peter Parkinson
1994 Dennis Silver
1995 Peter Overman
1996 Jeffrey Howlett
1997 Rodney Mollett
1998 Iris Rossen
1999 John Koivisto
2000 Brian J Kidd
2001 Robin Arndt
2002 Michael Broderick
2003 Kenneth Adam
2004 Laurie Hegvold
2005 Brian Wright
2006 Warren Kerr
2007 Peter Hunt “His role in making available an annual prize for young architecture graduates to enable them to travel and further develop their careers.”
2008 Ron Bodycoat “His public role interfacing with such organisations as the National Trust, Local Government, the Australian Institute of Architects, media, education bodies and numerous not for profit organisations.”
2009 Geoffrey London “His contribution in raising public awareness of architecture and the profession through his academic responsibilities over the years, publications, various prominent positions within the Institute of Architects, and most recently as Government Architect.”
2010 No award
2011 Phillip Griffiths “His active participation in the Heritage Council and in working with the communities involved with projects has raised the public awareness of heritage, its value to the community, to the architectural; environment and to the profession.”
2012 Ian Hocking “He has made major contributions to the architectural profession throughout his esteemed career. In particular, his work in heritage architecture in WA, nationally and internationally is exceptional.  His commitment to advancing the professional development of the next generation of architects is also highly admirable, having been involved in education through lecturing in architecture and planning.”
2013  Paul Rossen  Not sure yet


One thought on “ABWA Board Award

  1. Pingback: Architects Board Award | Architectural Happenings in Perth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s